October Ipsy Bag: Alter Ego

Hi readers! I have been subscribed to Ipsy for eleven months, so I take a moment every month to share what I received in my bag in hopes that those who are curious about the process will get their questions answered! If you want to subscribe, click here.

This may be repetitive to some, but something I say all the time is that the bags seem to be getting better each month. This month WAS the exception! I was not impressed with it, and want to mention again that I find it helpful to retake the quiz even if you got items you wanted. This seems to help you tailor what you really want and are looking for, and also helps you stay on top of what brands they are adding to their sampling. I didn’t care for three out of five things in my bag, and that is the most I have ever disliked.

Another thing to mention is three months ago, there is a new points system which lets you earn 15 points per item you review. This includes the bag itself, which if you add it all up, let’s you receive 85 points per month! This means a quicker way to earn bonus points to redeem for extra products.

You will notice that this month I have six products in my picture. At the end of last month, I redeemed points for the white henna tattoo because it was only 100 points and I wanted to try it out. (The photo of this tattoo is very bad above. I did my best, but I have linked the website below.) The one thing I will say about redeeming your points is, you must constantly be looking for what is available and ACT FAST! Usually these bonus products sell out very quickly!

Overall I was not happy with my bag this month. My favorite thing I received this month was the tweezers and liquid lipstick.

Here is what I received in my October Ipsy Bag:

OctoberBag

Alter Ego October Bag

This bag even has an alter ego. The one side is patent leather black and the other is a metallic gold. I really like this bag a lot, and think it is nice quality. Other bags are nice quality also, but this one is different to me.

Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long-Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Committed

I was very excited to have received this! It is also the cutest sample of a lip product that I have ever received! I am absolutely in love with this color. I have been wearing it today and it isn’t coming off on anything, cups, straws, napkins, nothing. The color is also perfect. I hate saying this, but it is in the Kylie Jenner lip color family. It is slightly that 90’s mauve color, but more on the nude side. I would highly recommend this and there are many other colors that I also have my eye on how that I know it is high quality.

BalancedGuru Scrub Me Nice and Gritty Body Scrub

This is my least favorite product because I cannot stand the scent. I don’t know how I’m going to use this because the scent is so unpleasant to me. It is organic and has raw sugar, organic coffee, coconut oil and cocoa butter. It is a loose body scrub that is brown in color; looks mostly like the coffee. But there have to be other ingredients because it didn’t smell just like coffee or cocoa butter. I am getting a large whiff of something similar to menthol or mint. The container has a protective plastic on it, so when I took that off and closed the jar, it was still oozing the smell when I would walk by. However, the concept is nice. I wanted to also add that this jar was a sample size. I can’t say much else about it because I can’t really don’t think I’m going to be able to use the product. My alternative: donate to a woman’s shelter. Someone there will most likely want to use it!

Emite Makeup Tweezers

I have needed a new pair of tweezers because mine currently are starting to rush at the one end. These are the nicest tweezers I have ever owned, and need I say that they are obviously full-sized, but they are also $25! I don’t think I’ve spent that much on a beauty tool like this in a long time! So good thing I needed a new pair and they are nice quality! The company sells high-end products, and I have to say that I was impressed with these. They have a slight plastic coating covering the metal, except the tips, that make it easier to grip. I would recommend these if you are willing to pay the price! Plus, being pink is a bonus!

Dose Color Pill Nail Polish in Stormy

This nail polish is a really cool concept, but I personally think it was poorly executed. It is a purple that has hints of brown, blue and red. The color itself is nice for a fall color. The concept of the bottle is really cool as well, as it looks like a pill and is small and convenient. It is not made of glass so it would most likely not break when it falls. However, it is extremely challenging to paint your nails and hold the tube at the same time. The whole bottle is curved, so it doesn’t sit on a flat surface; you have to prop it against something. Although I like the color, the convenience is just not there. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone, unless you have someone else holding the tube while you paint your nails.

Nourish Organic Argan Face Serum

I am really unsure why I received this product this month. The first thing is that it is skin care and I have not asked for skin care for month and the second is because it is for normal to dry skin, which is not the criteria my face meets. However, I don’t totally hate it. I am on the fence with this product, and I will tell you why. At first, I thought they were great because they are all natural, biodegradable, and convenient. I don’t think I would use it on my face, but it would maybe use it on the dry spots on my hands like my knuckles and cuticles. I usually test things out on the back of my hand, and it seemed to soak right in. It would also be good once winter rolls around and I start to get some dry patches on my face. I would recommend this especially to those eco-friendly readers and those who have dry to normal skin. This is mostly for those on the dry side I would say. I am also going to note that since this is a skin care product, you should be cautious about using them. You never know what you will have a reaction to.

Additionally redeemed product:

Kitsch White Henna Tattoo, click here for the link to the website

I wanted to try this when I saw that it was only 100 points! (From reading my intro, you know that 100 points doesn’t take that long to accumulate, so it isn’t a total waste if you don’t end up liking something). I have liked the henna designs, but wanted to do something that is more temporary, and white is less noticeable than black. I really like the design of this tattoo. As I was hesitating when I was cashing in my points, the tattoo surface area is too large for my hand. My hands are extremely small. So I decided to use it on the top of my foot and it worked just fine. I really like this tattoo, and they gave me a discount code for 20% off. The code is KITSCH20.

What did you guys get in your bags?

Leave a comment